DRUNK DRIVING: DUI/DWI/OWI
With one of the strictest driving laws in the nation, in the Commonwealth of Virginia, a first offense of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a Class One Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.00. A conviction for DUI under §18.2-266 of the Virginia Code results in a statutory 12 month loss of license and mandatory enrollment in the Alcohol Safety Action Program.
Most drivers do not realize that there are many legal and technical defenses available when facing a DUI, DWI, or OWI charge. Having an experienced Northern Virginia and DC DUI/DWI/OWI defense attorney may make the fundamental difference in the outcome of your case. This is true whether you are facing felony DUI/DWI charges. Since Olga Casillas has practiced in the area for over two decades, our team is familiar with the details of each court, including varying policies and procedures. This familiarity with the courts we practice in and our positive reputation helps us effectively represent and protect your interests.
Reckless driving is aggressively prosecuted in Fairfax and Northern Virginia. As a Class One Misdemeanor, the most serious misdemeanor offense in Virginia – conviction will lead to the creation of a criminal record. In fact, Virginia reckless driving, even as a first offense for someone with a perfect driving record, is punishable by up to 12 months in jail, a $2,500 fine, six points are deducted as a demerit on the Defendant’s driving record and may cause a six-month license suspension. Although the conviction may drop off of your DMV record after a certain amount of time, it will remain on your permanent criminal record with the FBI and state law enforcement.
For a first offense, reckless driving in Washington, DC is punishable by up to three months in jail and a fine which can vary depending on your criminal record.
Olga Casillas can help you evaluate the facts and develop a strategy for possible reduction or dismissal of the case. With over two decades of trial experience, our team can help you effectively prepare your case for court.
DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED/REVOKED LICENSE
In the Commonwealth of Virginia, the offense of Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License is a Class One Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.00.
A conviction for Driving on Suspended License stays on a Virginia driving record for eleven (11) years. In DC, driving without an operators license is can result in a fine of up to $1,000 and a maximum of a year in prison. Also, the DMV assesses six points as a demerit deduction for this conviction. Convictions for this charge may impact insurance rates, employment opportunities, and applications for security clearances.
Depending on the facts of the case and your driving record, Attorney Casillas may be able to negotiate dismissal of the charge or reduction to a lesser offense. It remains imperative that a defendant charged with this criminal offense have an experienced and diligent attorney to effectively represent you.
Juvenile court is run very differently from adult criminal court. The hearings are restricted to certain personnel only, the defendants’ names are not made public, and defendants are found to be “delinquent.” They are not sent to serve time in prison but rather placed in the custody of the DC Department of Youth Rehabilitation Services. The point of these differences is that the juvenile justice system is designed to rehabilitate troubled youth and to do so in a manner that does not ruin any chance of them having a decent future.
Make sure your child has an attorney who is familiar with the juvenile justice system and and is knowledgeable about programs that are available to help. Olga Casillas has represented juveniles as a Guardian ad Litem for Arlington County and is readily available to represent juveniles and protecting their best interests.